?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Cheesiness

I entered my name into the hat for the Third Annual Grilled Cheese Invitational, regional Austin.

So on Saturday, Graham, who will be djing the event, and I will head on up to Austin with a cooler full of fixings for grilled cheese sandwiches, and at some point, I'll be making 20 portions of my grilled cheese sandwich for the judges.

I've never done this before. I helped Graham two years ago at the second annual (annual is a loose term in these parts) Grilled Cheese Invitational, but I've never competed myself.

I've been thinking about my sandwich for a few weeks now, and I have it worked out conceptually, though I do need to do a few trail runs tomorrow to make sure what works in my head works in the griddle. (Note: due to competition reading this journal, details of the sandwich are kept secret. I will note that it is titled Margharita Samba, ut is in the Karma Sutra (vegetarian)* category, and it will be delicious. Hopefully it will deliver what's promised.) My mother called me today with a bread suggestion, and I think I'll head over to a local artisan bakery during lunch to see if I can special order it for Friday pickup.

If I win the whole shebang, I think I get to go to the National event in Los Angeles at the end of April and compete with the big boys and girls. If I win just my category, I get a kick ass trophy and bragging rights for the rest of the year (or until such time as a Grilled Cheese Invitational (regional, Austin) happens again. If I don't win, I'll have had an awesome time.

*From the GCI official rules: The Kama Sutra

The Kama Sutra sammich is any grilled cheese that is made with exotic bread or contains any other ingredients than the above mentioned.

The only rules to the Kama Sutra sammich are as follows: The sammich MUST be grilled and the internal ingredients must be at least 60% CHEESE. Other than that, this is a freestyle category, so go for it. This is where you can create any savory flavor concept your twisted mind will allow, so long as the internal ingredients are at least 60% cheese.

The Kama Sutra category is not only the most liberal, but also the most popular. So you must keep in mind that the competition is fierce and you could be up against the largest block of competitors, so you better get it right!

Tags:

Comments

( 7 comments — Say something )
fallconsmate
Mar. 23rd, 2011 06:29 pm (UTC)
I'm a bit lost here... As the vegetarian option still has to be 60% cheese, is it allowed to be a vegetarian "cheese" or must it still be a cheese-made-from-milk? I know some vegetarians will not eat cheese at all, because it's an animal by-product.

(this is not a recipe request, I absolutely agree with you holding your cards close to your chest in this situation, and absolutely I wish you the best of luck in your competition!)
texaslawchick
Mar. 23rd, 2011 07:00 pm (UTC)
I guess vegetarian is the wrong way of putting it. Meat-less is the way it's described in the application form.

Most of the vegetarians I know eat dairy products (and some eat bacon), though I do know a few vegans who touch no meat products at all.

I grew up on a ranch. I don't think I'm genetically capable of joining either cause.
raithen
Mar. 23rd, 2011 07:44 pm (UTC)
Vegetarian simply refers to no meat - eggs, milk, cheese etc are fair game. The idea is partly that the animal is not killed to obtain these items, partly health, etc.

Vegan refers to absolutely no animal products - eg this includes gelatin and not wearibg leather shoes.
badrahessa
Mar. 23rd, 2011 07:59 pm (UTC)
I thought vegan was the description of rthose who didnt eat eggs and dairy products as well as steering clear of meat. Vegetarian just means meatless to me.
fallconsmate
Mar. 24th, 2011 02:09 am (UTC)
my granny was a dairy farmer, and we raised pigs and chickens so i think i'm genetically incapable for vegan/vegetarianism also.

thanks for the clarification!
clynne
Apr. 3rd, 2011 05:35 am (UTC)
Vegetarians who won't eat cheese (or butter, or bread that used milk or butter in the making) are called "vegan," and will generally let people know that that is their dietary preference. Many lacto-ovo vegetarians will also not eat traditional cheeses due to the use of rennet in cheesemaking.

The GCI doesn't make a distinction other than between "with meat" and "without meat." At the larger events, we record the information but do not even allow people to request vegetarian sammies (for crowd-control purposes).
fallconsmate
Apr. 3rd, 2011 07:31 am (UTC)
Thank you very much for the explanation! :)

I knew the difference between vegetarian and vegan, but wasn't sure how "veggie-friendly" the recipes must be. I appreciate you answering it for me.
( 7 comments — Say something )